Pioneer Institute’s 2010 Better Government Competition Awards

The City of Sandy Springs is a runner up in the Pioneer Institute’s 2010 Better Government Competition Awards. Nominated for its public-private partnership, since its incorporation in 2005, the City of Sandy Springs has operated with the majority of staff employed by the private company, CH2M HILL. The result is the lowest per capita ratio (1.51 per 1,000 residents) of municipal employees in the state of Georgia. Now in its 19th year, Pioneer’s Better Government Competition showcases innovative ideas and programs to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of government.

The award will be presented on Friday, June 18, 2010, at the 2010 Better Government Competition Awards Dinner in Boston. Copies of the compendium of winning entries will be available that evening. The keynote speaker is Massachusetts U.S. Senator Scott Brown.

The 2010 BGC Winner and Runners Up were chosen from numerous entries submitted by businesses, government officials and citizens from across the United States. This year’s panel consisted of:

  • Katherine Craven, Executive Director, Massachusetts School Building Association
  • Andrew Davis, Managing Partner, Overall Capital
  • The Honorable Kerry M. Healey, Former Massachusetts Lieutenant Governor
  • Keith Hylton, Professor, Boston University School of Law
  • Wendy Lane, Chairman, Lane Holdings
  • Avi Nelson, WRKO Radio
  • John O’Leary, Fellow, Ash Institute, Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government

Pioneer Institute is an independent, non-partisan, privately funded research organization that seeks to change the intellectual climate in the Massachusetts Commonwealth by supporting scholarship that challenges the “conventional wisdom” on Massachusetts public policy issues.

Possibly Related Posts:

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.